Random Thoughts-21: "Swami Vivekananda’s Birthday"

Swami Vivekananda was born on January 12, 1863. The devotees of Swami Vivekananda world over celebrate it as “Swamiji Jayanthi”. Swami Vivekananda’s ideas have had a great influence on the Indian youth and still has a lot of relevance to them. Hence, the Govt of India has declared January 12, the birthday of Swami Vivekananda, to be National Youth Day. In schools and colleges all over India, Youth Day is being celebrated today.

“Swamiji” as Swami Vivekananda is fondly referred to by his devotees, was a great teacher of mankind. His address at the Parliament of Religions in Chicago, USA, captivated not only the audience but the entire world and he became well known thenceforth. He restored a sense of pride in the hearts of the people of India. His teachings influenced the thinking of national and international leaders, politicians, men of science and philosophers, like Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Subash Chandra Bose, Aurobindo Ghosh, Tagore, Rajaji, Radhakrishnan, Nikola Tesla, Jamshedji Tata and many others.

He founded the Sri Ramakrishna Math and Mission on the principle, “for one’s own salvation and for the welfare of the World”. He advised his followers to be holy, unselfish and have faith in themselves.

He is the maker of modern India and is widely considered to have inspired India’s freedom struggle movement.

During my bachelor days, Dr Janakiraman would convene weekly meetings at his residence under the banner “Vivekananda Study Circle” and we used read a few pages from the Complete Works of Swami Vivekananda. After that we used to pray/meditate and Dr Janakiraman would distribute “kalkandu” as “prasad”. He used to present me Sri Ramakrishna-Vivekananda literature at every opportunity and thus my acquaintance with Sri Ramakrishna and Swami Vivekananda grew. He took me to the Ramakrishna Tapovan at Tirupparaithurai thrice, which was the nearest Math to us in those days. We used to worship in the shrine there and then seek the blessings of the monks there. Srimat Swami Chidbhavanandaji Maharaj, the founder of the Tapovan, was alive then. We would go and prostrate before him and he would enquire about us and bless us.

When the Madurai branch of the Ramakrishna Math came up, Dr Janakiraman used to frequent it. Once or twice I went there with him. He used to collect donations for the Madurai Math and when he left Karaikudi, he entrusted it to me. Then slowly I started visiting the Madurai Math. After a time, it became a regular monthly visit as the monks there were very kind to me and I caught got in their love, to borrow an adjective from The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna, “unreasonable” love i.e. love without any reason.

I read all the nine volumes of The Complete Works of Swami Vivekananda, The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna, The Eternal Companion, Sri Ramakrishna, the Great Master and then everything published by the Ramakrishna Order that I could lay my hands on.

During my FASOHD days, we used to organize seminars to commemorate the National Youth Day at different colleges. We used to distribute a booklet containing the essence of the thoughts of Swami Vivekananda called “Swami Vivekananda: His Call to the Nation” to the students. This booklet was priced at less than Rupees Two.

I shall take up only one fascinating quote of his for this post: “Strength is Life, Weakness is Death; Expansion is Life, Contraction is Death; Love is Life; Hatred is Death.” Though there are numerous wonderful and beautiful quotations of Swamiji, this quote has fascinates me. There are numerous quotations on Life and Death which you can find in Books of Quotations. But, to me, nobody has so precisely and comprehensively have described Life and Death like Swamiji. Its positive note, its universal relevance and enormity of its implications are incomparable.

For example, let us take a single word from the above quote, viz., “expansion” and proceed. I started as a dot; as I embrace my parents, the dot grows into a small circle. This circle goes on expanding as I include my brothers and sisters and later on other relatives and friends. Thus this circle should go on expanding, finally becoming all encompassing – encompassing the whole universe – breaking all barriers; ultimately I become one with the universe. That is the fulfillment of life. When I get stuck up in between somewhere, it is a pity. I should keep on striving and get moving. This is what I infer from that word “expansion”. I have taken just only one word from that quote; like this, one could take up every word and focus one’s mind on it, try to visualize the great message contained in it.

I shall conclude this post with a quote on Swamiji by Netaji Subash Chandra Bose: “I cannot write about Vivekananda without going into raptures…. His personality was rich, profound and complex… Reckless in his sacrifice, unceasing in his activity, boundless in his love, profound and versatile in his wisdom, exuberant in his emotions, merciless in his attacks but yet simple as a child, he was a rare personality in this world of ours.”

Detailed Wikipedia article on “SWAMI VIVEKANANDA”: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swami_Vivekananda

24 Responses to “Random Thoughts-21: "Swami Vivekananda’s Birthday"”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I will be most certainly of the perception a magic formula so
    that you can Doggie Behavior is top-notch level item that supplies a
    large number involving quality info for a surprisingly low
    value. In the event you employ strategies that may be employed in
    agreement together with your dog's normal urge and instincts, you'll be
    able to improve its character and provide restrictions that can maintain
    your dog satisfied. With the Easy Walk Harness, if
    your dog attempts to pull forward the straps
    across the chest and shoulder blades begin to tighten.

    my blog; metamora dog training academy

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Also, we need to determine the rounds of the quiz according to it.
    Popular prizes include sports tickets, cash and vouchers for drinks, food – and dollars off of tabs.
    8.

    Have a look at my blog; great pub quiz names
    Also see my web site :: pub quiz area

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Food has become the most overused drug and the most underused form of nutrition.
    The fact is, most grains are quite high in glycemic
    index, meaning that they make your blood sugar go up rapidly, and send you crashing down soon thereafter.
    – Vegetables are low in sodium less water retention.

    my web blog :: paleo diet and alcohol

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the fantastic works guys I've included you guys to my own blogroll.

    Also visit my weblog – 10th birthday party ideas
    Also see my page: kids birthday party ideas

  5. Anonymous Says:

    ” A good tip is to weblog about things related to your industry with out giving away something which you could be making cash from. By using the autoresponder, you have been in front of a potential customer for five days. If this kind of business you are looking for or planning to go into just for the reason that you wanted to consult or even handle those promotions for other businesses, well then, make sure that don’t fail to notice the opportunity to point out those costumers or clients of yours who are potentials in which you grow your own business with the very techniques you wanted to provide to them.

    Here is my webpage Internet Marketing Tips

  6. Anonymous Says:

    '''. Instead, focus on a single thing or just a couple of things, and try not to move forward until you have reached those goals. It is very soothing to hear the sound of piano and based on such vast change of scales, a song sounds so melodious.

    my blog post … piano chords and request

  7. Anonymous Says:

    The oil of oregano, an effective herb is also a natural cure, with
    a high content of carvacol in it being very effective if taken internally every day.

    Include about three to 4 tablespoons of vinegar to a
    bathtub stuffed with a tiny sum of warm h2o and only bathe in it
    for fifteen to twenty minutes. That will also help restore the balance in your
    body and get things back on track.

    Also visit my blog post … yeast infection and yogurt tampon

  8. Anonymous Says:

    In the first place, you might want to supply the people you buy twitter followers
    from your password meaning people can do anything they want with your account which could include stealing
    the password & changing the email on the account so groups rip it
    off from you. There is nothing illegal in buying Twitter followers.
    In this brief post I'm heading to be sharing with you anything I know about this topic, as nicely as the greatest areas to get what you're searching for.

    My web blog – increase Twitter Followers
    Also see my webpageget Twitter Followers

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Only 1 address, while. Perhaps, the way to go will
    probably be yes. 435-896-1737 Annabella, Utah Trainers:
    Chris and Julie Holt.

    my site :: dog training aids uk

  10. Anonymous Says:

    The other way to get more Facebook fans is by
    rewarding the loyal fans that you already have. An experienced
    service provider from the industry can anly assist you buy Facebook fans and likes
    that would be real and active Facebook users.
    The more Facebook fans you can make, the more followers you can get, which eventually add to your growing clientele base.

    Feel free to visit my site; http://www.derweg-info.de

  11. Anonymous Says:

    I've learn a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much effort you put to create this kind of great informative website.

    Here is my webpage … 1St Birthday Party Ideas
    Also see my site :: 5Th Birthday Party Ideas

  12. Anonymous Says:

    Some were practical, of course, but others were psychological and emotional.

    At the end of each round read out the cumulative scores.
    The Bull's Head Pub, Bangkok.

    Here is my web page … pub quiz archives

  13. Anonymous Says:

    Some were practical, of course, but others were psychological and emotional.

    Anna had been looking through my phone while I was naked. 8.

    My blog post clever pub quiz names

  14. Anonymous Says:

    ” A good tip is to weblog about things related to your industry with out giving away something which you could be making cash from. Of course if you want an internet marketing plan to actually fulfill its intended function, then it has to be constructed in a competent manner. Hours of daily internet marketing available.

    Check out my weblog Internet Marketing Tips

  15. Anonymous Says:

    Chords introduce harmony into music and it is the effects created by chords that
    produce the inspiration behind so much music and make it so satisfying both to listen to and to play.
    Now among the advice of your educational materials, shoring
    jar discover all the things of the substitute chords. offers free online piano lessons.

    My web site … tanging yaman piano chords and lyrics

  16. Anonymous Says:

    DJ spins out on Saturday nights. *Rounds table
    format. The buccal cavity is a small cavity that has neither jaws nor
    teeth.

    Feel free to visit my site – pub quiz amsterdam

  17. Anonymous Says:

    there are lots of family dog web pages which provide totally free information on several
    unique instruction troubles. Be patient with your dog.
    Research states that more dog trainers and owners are
    deciding on the dog training collar.

    Check out my blog – police dog training aids

  18. Anonymous Says:

    The decor on the inside of the restaurant is
    absolutely beautiful. Anna had been looking through my phone while I was naked.
    The food is decent and the drink specials on Tuesdays include $2.

    Also visit my page … best pub quiz team names

  19. Anonymous Says:

    I all the time used tο stuԁy paгаgraρh in newѕ papers but now as
    I am a usеr of wеb therefore from now I am usіng
    net for pοstѕ, thanks to web.

    Visit my pagе steroids cycles

  20. Anonymous Says:

    On Sunday nights Erin Jaimes hosts a blues jam where anyone from Alan Haynes to Gary Clark, Jr.
    Brazenhead is a great place to go with your family or for a business lunch or dinner, but if you are looking
    for a party atmosphere, this isn't it. The buccal cavity is a small cavity that has neither jaws nor teeth.

    My website brainstormer pub quiz Answers

  21. Anonymous Says:

    In that case, this kind of question should not be taken from any
    show telecasted in specific country. Brazenhead is a great place to go with
    your family or for a business lunch or dinner, but if you
    are looking for a party atmosphere, this isn't it. The decline of the East side blues scene was disheartening, but, it also gave rise to the need for a fresh start, which came in the form of the next blues-only venue, Antone's, founded
    by the late Clifford Antone, during the summer of 1975.

    my web site – free pub quiz answers

  22. Anonymous Says:

    They're made from a type of leather that has a natural resistance to water. You might even find yourself flying over top of other riders, so keep your limbs as close to your tube as possible. My friends and I heard the state hatcheries department had released some trout upstream from us and we eventually stumbled upon a half dozen of them in the clear waters.

    Here is my blog post: water shoes

  23. Anonymous Says:

    DJ spins out on Saturday nights. At the end of each round read
    out the cumulative scores. The buccal cavity is a small cavity
    that has neither jaws nor teeth.

    Here is my website Pub quiz and Answers General knowledge

  24. Anonymous Says:

    Τhere aгe numеrous weԁding goωn ѕtoreѕ оn thе inteгnet;
    tаkе thе timе to buy the dresѕ.
    It was popular for the Wedding Drеss on it. Sometimeѕ thаt
    look cаn bе а bit ԁaunting, аѕ there are
    ѕo many оther choіceѕ avаilаble whісh гaiseѕ thе queѕtiоn,
    ωhy is whitе the ρredomіnаtе cοlor?

    Heге is my wеbѕіte … aο cuoі (de.excondo.com)


Leave a comment