My Books-6: "THE WRECK" by Rabindranath Tagore

I am slowly convalescing after a month-long illness.  During the illness, appetite was lost and I could eat only a little.  For a diabetic, loss of appetite could be a real problem.  Even normally, the energy conversion rate is very much less and the various systems of the body get only a lesser share of energy and naturally, their functions are impaired.  Add to it, loss of appetite.  You eat less and as a result even lesser energy.  So the natural inclination is lie down all the time.  As a corollary, you become easily depressed.  I realized that if I had to get out of depression, I should do something I passionately loved.  So I decided to take up some books and reads.  One of the books was “The Wreck” by Rabindranath Tagore.  I had read it when I was in school in abridged version.  It was crisp and thoroughly enjoyable. Probably my concentration was on the story and I did not pay much attention to other nuances like style, description etc.  Now though I have been possessing this unabridged version for a long time, I did not find time to take it up for reading. It occurred to me now I can read it for style, description and other elements.

Incidentally, this was one of Tagore’s very popular novels.  It has been made into successful film into many Indian languages including Tamil and Hindi.  I had seen the Tamil version; the story was slightly modified to suit Tamilnadu.  The Hindi version went by the name, “Ghoongat”.

I was not taken.  The book provided thoroughly enjoyable reading.  I loved the description of the Bengal’s waterways from Kolkata to Benares.  I thought if somebody had made a mega-serial of the novel, I should love to see it, as I can see the many interesting the places the steamer by which the hero and heroine travel, which stops at some village or the other every night.  I tried to visualize these places.

But what I did not like was the climax, which is full of twists and turns and beats some of the notorious Tamil mega-serials I have seen and it tested my patience to a great extent.  In spite of it, I should consider it a great work of literature.

I decided to record my feelings and impressions without waiting for anything.  Probably with time I may ruminate over the novel, and come up with more comments.    

Biography of Rabindranath Tagore from Wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rabindranath_Tagore

Grateful thanks to Wikipedia, the free encyclomedia.

6 Responses to “My Books-6: "THE WRECK" by Rabindranath Tagore”

  1. Anthony Says:

    Newports Cigarettes Website added that even if the good friend cannot smoke in his vehicle, he can compulsory forbid friends' addiction or craving for tobacco, then teased said: ” Smokes the injurious to health, if the side person is pulling out, I feared that I will also not be able to restrain the addiction or craving for Newport Cigarettes. ” He said that just bought new car's time, he before the good friend will board said: ” A bit faster extinguished the smoke Marlboro Lights, and so on got out to pull out again. ” Is precisely this special custom, caused Mr. Zeng all good friends before riding his vehicle, routinely, even if were the smoke extinguishment which just lit, has like this also avoided the bilateral awkwardness.Most scientificNicotine acceptor bit by bit annihilate Cheap Newport Cigarette

  2. heyi Says:

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. heyi Says:

    Thanks for your sharing, I just need them,it is very kind of Abercrombie Outlet.I think
    your web is so good.

  4. honeyclarck Says:

    I collected a lot of interesting things from your blog especially its discussion about Cert Killer. From the tons of comments in your posts, I believe I’m not alone having all the enjoyment here! keep up the great work.

  5. youdi chen Says:

    Sound is Fashion Heartbeats by Monster Black
    Monster Beats
    Beats Tour
    Monster By Lady Gaga Lady Gaga are holistically designed to deliver the soundtrack of your life with clarity and power, as well as satisfy your passion for fashion. Immerse yourself in pitch-perfect highs, precise mids, and club caliber bass. Because when your music sounds amazing, you stop hearing it, and start feeling it. Beats Studio
    Beats Solo In other words, sound really matters. Plus, Lady Gaga didn't just style-check Heartbeats, she created the design to ensure they look like no other headphone out there. Sound Matters Because the Music Matters A great song transcends sound. Monster Diddy
    Power Beats Dre
    Monster Controltalk
    Monster Beats Shop
    Monster Tam
    Vivienne Tam Butterfly
    Monster Butterfly It has the power to move you to tears—or the dance floor. And the better your music sounds, the more emotional it is. ##

  6. qifei2012 Says:

    The most tough components of your current elliptical machine exerciser training is to learn when you workout. Your additional training curriculum previous to stepping into any persons elliptical exerciser exercise routine technique, confer with your medical professional. Generating your own shape, always never in addition take your time Wholesale p90x workout. It S preferable to give your figure a chance to adjust to your personal physical exercise treatment program p90x. p90x workout


Leave a Reply

